What I’ve Learned in College

Hey y’all! I’m sure you’ve been wondering where I’ve been since the last time I posted. Or maybe you aren’t…

Either way I’m here to let you know I guess I’m back. However, I am not going to writing about working out and my fitness goals; I love to work out but I don’t like to write about it. I want to write about what I want to write about! What comes from my heart; my passions, my desires, my rants and sometimes my shortcomings.

As I am going through the first semester of my senior year, there’s one thought that continues to plague me: how am I supposed to find out what I’m passionate about? How am I supposed to take my major and get a lifelong career out of it? I know I sure as hell don’t have the attention span to do the same thing for the rest of my life. Over the summer I even read some “how to be an adult” books because quite frankly, I’m lost.

How are you supposed to go from going to class, doing homework, and having few responsibilities to having a career and being a self-sufficient human being?

I really don’t have an answer. However, as I will continue to struggle and ponder over what I’m actually doing with my life – besides graduating – the main theme of all the books, all the questions is that there really isn’t a right way to be an adult. We’re allowed to struggle a little bit. We have a long time to figure out who we are and who we want to be.

So what exactly have I learned in college? A lot actually. I’ve learned a lot about myself as a person; I’ve learned – and retained – AP style, how to have a roommate, how to share my belongings, how to time manage, how to say no to things I don’t actually want to do. The list could go on for days. The most important thing I’ve learned through my time here at Oklahoma State is that it’s ok to not know what I want to do and it’s ok to still be discovering who I am as a person, as long as I’m being the best version of myself I can be. I know that sounds extremely corny, like extremelyΒ corny, but it’s important to know that even though it seems like we need to have everything figured out by the time we graduate from college, we really don’t.

What’s the most important thing you learned in college?

AF

Leave a Reply

