The Importance of Jan. 14, 2014 in Oklahoma

Yesterday was Jan. 14, 2014. But why am I talking about this date? What is its significance?

Jan. 14, 2014 is a date to put in the books. An Oklahoma judge ruled Oklahoma’s ban on gay marriage unconstitutional. Although this doesn’t officially lift the ban or take effect immediately, it’s a step in the right direction.

Now before you go thinking I’m some crazy liberal college student, let me remind you, these are my beliefs. I’m not saying you have to agree with me. Β Please keep in mind people are allowed to have his or her own opinions.

If Oklahoma goes through all the appeals and legislative processes it needs to and makes this official, it will be the eighteenth state to allow gay marriage – or what is otherwise known as marriage – in the United States. Utah is also in the process of making it official.

I’m so proud people are finally realizing and acknowledging that people, no matter their sexual orientation, should have equal rights. It’s saddening to think there are people out there who think less of someone just because they aren’t attracted to the opposite sex. Or they are attracted to someone of a different race. Or attracted to someone with a different religious upbringing.

I think if you love someone, you should be allowed to love them freely and openly.

I think if you love someone, you should be able to marry them if marriage is something you both are interested in.

And maybe I don’t have the credentials to say this because I’m not married nor have I ever been married, but I see marriage as a way to show someone your commitment to them. To show your significant other they are the only human being you want to be with – in sickness and in health – for the rest of your life. Who cares if that person happens to be of the same sex?

It’s not like letting everyone in the LGBT community get married is going to ruin the sanctity of marriage. In the US, 40-50 percent of marriages end in a divorce. Kim Kardashian and Kris Humphries were married for a mere 72 days. Britney Spears and Jason Alexander weren’t even married for a full three days before calling it quits. Heterosexual couples are doing a pretty good job of ruining the sanctity of marriage all on their own…

Now with that being said, I’m not generalizing and saying every heterosexual couple is ruining the sanctity of marriage, butΒ I think you get my point.

So a huge congratulations to Oklahoma for taking the first step in the direction of allowing gay and lesbian couples to get married.

Leave a Reply

