Enough is Enough

Friends, family and people who read my blog: I have a confession to make.

I’m full of excuses.

Now, you’re probably thinking, “You’re probably being hard on yourself – you seem like such a driven individual. Why would you need to make excuses?” Stop, you’re too kind.

Seriously, it’s true. It’s no secret that since graduating last May, there have been many ups and downs. Through it all, the excuses continued. OK, what exactly am I talking about?

Recently, I’ve come to the realization I’m no longer in the best shape of my life. Now, before you stop reading, I promise this all ties together. Bear with me. I’m not saying I’m fat or looking for compliments. It’s just I know I can be better because I’ve been much healthier before. Thinking about this got me to a point where I was genuinely unhappy about it all the time. I’ve been buying my clothes a size or two bigger because I don’t want them to touch my body. I was self-concious and ashamed.

Whenever the negative thoughts would creep, I would tell myself, “You’re going to work out. It will be fine. You just need to get back into the swing of things.”

So I’d workout and be on a good three day streak. Endorphins flowing freely. Then I would try to wake up a little bit earlier to get a workout in before work….and oversleep. Cue the excuses.

“It’s OK I overslept, I needed the sleep.” 

Once I started my job at CI, it got worse.

“My commute is too long.”

“I’ll workout more once I move to Dallas.” 

“I’m still adjusting to my new schedule.”

All these statements are valid. I was commuting 45+ minutes to and from Dallas. I was adjusting to a full-time job. It would be easier once I lived in Dallas and had more time.

The excuses snuck their way into other aspects of my life.

“I’m too busy to write more and actually keep up with my blog.”

“I don’t have enough time in the morning to meditate before work.”

“Yoga studios are so expensive.”

Here’s the thing: you make time for the things in your life you find important. And if this is true, then what the hell is going on with me?

I’ll tell you what. I was taking the easy way out. I told myself, you’ll be much happier once you make X, Y and Z happen in your life. Well my friends, if there’s anything I’ve learned in my 23 years, it’s that you’re the only person in control of your happiness. Not things, not other people, not situations. It comes down to you. And sure, it’s 10x easier to let yourself wallow in excuses, but honestly, it’s exhausting. 

Enough is enough.

I’ve been focusing on being more positive and happier with myself as I am now. I’m going to start meditating more. I’m going to blog once a week. I have a yoga studio membership. I’m starting 365 days of sweat…and finishing it this time!

I’m saying all of this because I want you all to help keep me accountable. Help stop the excuses – for myself (and for you too).

Donald Miller states in his book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, “People love to have lived a great story, but few people like the work it takes to make it happen.”

So here I am, releasing my confession out into the open. Telling the world that I’m writing a better story for myself. I’m going to actually do things and accomplish things.

The blog will happen once a week and I’m pretty much writing about anything. What it’s like being a 20-something adult. Weird thing happening in my life. Recipes I’ve tried. What inspires me. I’ll also include a small recap of workouts that week.

4 Replies to “Enough is Enough”

    1. Thanks Lindsay! 🙂 I’m excited to be writing again too. I didn’t realize how much I missed it!

Leave a Reply

