“Be Kind, Rewind”

political

I don’t like getting involved in politically charged arguments because nowadays, it seems like if you have a different opinion than someone else, you’re obviously wrong, stupid and ignorant. However, I have to say something because people are getting downright rude.

My actual friends too. Not just the Facebook ‘friends’ you keep to see what they’re still doing, and you haven’t really talked since freshman year of high school friends – my actual real-life friends are being downright rude.

And that’s not OK.

It seems like everyone’s emotions are running high from this election – I get it, I understand. But people are letting their emotions get the best of them, and they aren’t truly listening to what everyone is saying (on both sides). So I would like to address a few things.

  1. It isn’t bad to be a “liberal,” a Republican, an Independent, a Democrat, what have you. The crazy, fantastic, wonderful thing about America is that you can identify with whatever party you’d like! What a great freedom it is.
  2. Not every single person who identifies with a certain party believes everything that party touts. *GASP* So stop generalizing. Yes, I’m a “liberal” democrat, and I don’t believe we should have free higher education (whatever, sue me).
  3. During every single election, there are peaceful protests, and there are violent protests. Violent protests suck all around, and they make that party look bad. They’re pretty childish if you ask me, and vandalizing and burning buildings isn’t the best way to get your point across. But like I said, there are also peaceful protests as well (see point number 2).
  4. People really care about the issues they care about. And honestly, that’s super cool. I’m glad I have friends who are passionate about the issues they believe in. I also love that I have friends who are opinionated and educated on an issue.
  5. That being said, just because someone has a differing opinion than you does not mean that person is wrong, stupid, ignorant, lesser than you, etc. And if they do have an opinion that differs, which will happen, that doesn’t give ANYONE the right to be rude, belittle, name call, etc. Act like freakin’ adults people.
  6. This goes along with point number five. Remember in kindergarten when our teachers taught us, “Treat others the way you want to be treated?” Do y’all not remember that?
  7. Just because it doesn’t directly affect you doesn’t mean it isn’t happening. I’ve seen a lot of people saying they don’t understand why people were marching. That fine, you’re allowed to not understand, but that doesn’t mean the people marching are “stupid liberals” and shouldn’t feel the way they feel. I would firstly like to point out that everyone was marching for different reasons. It was a peaceful way for each individual to say, “hey, this is happening, and I don’t agree with it.” We have the right to do so as Americans whether people agree with it or not (again, super cool freedom). I would also like to point out that I’ve never felt discriminated against in the workplace – I feel included and valued as a female, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen in other industries/offices/etc. I’m white. I will never know what it’s like to be discriminated against or belittled because of my skin color, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. I’m straight, so I don’t know what it’s like to be an LGBTQ person discriminated against, made fun of, etc., but again, that doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen. I could go on, but hopefully you get the point.

I don’t want to call out anyone specific, I just want people to please remember this next time you decide to post something or comment on Facebook. Most people have their minds made up about the majority of the issues they care about. Arguing and being rude to them will not change it. There is no reason to be rude. It solves nothing.

Be kind. Treat others how you want to be treated.

“We can learn to see each other and see ourselves in each other and recognize that human beings are more alike than we are unalike.” – Maya Angelou

Photo: Google images.

Leave a Reply

